Cant extract files (1.97)

Installation problems or game crashes? Post them here.
Forum rules
ALWAYS FOLLOW OUR SELF-HELP GUIDE FIRST.

If you report a game crash ALWAYS post your game.log.txt in between CODE tags, or if it too large post it on pastebin.com and share the link.
User avatar
n4gix.bill.leaming
Posts: 1196
Joined: 07 Aug 2013 18:22
Donation rank:
Location: Hammond, Indiana
Contact:

11 Sep 2015 20:10

There is absolutely nothing "wrong with this version" at all. If there were, then no one would be using it! :?
Fr. Bill
Global Moderator

Interests: Gauge Programming - 3d Modeling for Milviz

User avatar
JetstreamF1
Posts: 243
Joined: 11 Aug 2015 23:57
Location: Catonsville, Maryland

11 Sep 2015 20:54

Create a folder, place the 4 files (.001 through .004) in it, and use the self extractor.

Make sure that you extract to that folder.
Image

Headquarters: Frankfurt am Main

Current Truck: DAF XF Euro 6(<5000km)

Journey Screenshots (Old Photos are on Pages 1-5): http://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8253

LA-MJ
Posts: 776
Joined: 20 Dec 2013 16:07
Donation rank:

12 Sep 2015 14:23

n4gix.bill.leaming wrote:There is absolutely nothing "wrong with this version" at all. If there were, then no one would be using it! :?
While not the most friendly way of putting it, this illustration often describes the issue accurately:
Image
Problem exists between keyboard and chair.

HINTS:
1) Don't use download accelerators.
2) Don't use Internet explorer.
3) put all 5 files in one folder
4a) run part #5 OR
4b) extract part #1 ONLY

CharlesNewham
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2015 11:31
Contact:

18 Sep 2015 11:42

I'm having problems with the mod. I can't extract the files. This is completely different to what the installation used to be.

1) Don't use download accelerators.
I don't use any, as far as I know (never knew those things even existed).

2) Don't use Internet explorer.
I use Chrome.

3) put all 5 files in one folder
I did, even the def file.

4a) run part #5 OR
4b) extract part #1 ONLY

Did both. When I run part 1 it says the file is corrupted. When I run part 5 it just says can't "run file as 7z archive, unexpected end of data". I haven't touched the other files.

Do I need to use 7zip or does it work with WinRar? I've read the post on this thread, and people have said that WinRar works, but part 5 says that it can't run because it's a 7z archive. If WinRar is the problem, then I'll get 7zip. I just don't want to download a program for no reason.

Thanks for help :)

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 8103
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

18 Sep 2015 11:48

It won't work with WinRAR we're using new archiving technology that's only available in the latest version of 7zip, therefore I suggest updating your version of 7zip.
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

User avatar
JetstreamF1
Posts: 243
Joined: 11 Aug 2015 23:57
Location: Catonsville, Maryland

18 Sep 2015 11:51

Create a folder for parts 1-4, then run part 5 and extract the files to that same folder.
Image

Headquarters: Frankfurt am Main

Current Truck: DAF XF Euro 6(<5000km)

Journey Screenshots (Old Photos are on Pages 1-5): http://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8253

CharlesNewham
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2015 11:31
Contact:

19 Sep 2015 03:38

Thanks guys, but it still doesn't work. I've installed 7zip, and opened part 5 (in a folder with all the other parts). It still comes up with the same error. Am I doing something wrong?

User avatar
mbman212
Moderator
Posts: 3353
Joined: 15 Aug 2014 09:15
Location: Vaasa, Ostrobothnia, Western Finland
Contact:

19 Sep 2015 10:15

Part 5 should automatically show up as an .exe file.
#7 Forum Spammer

ETS2 v1.36.2.26, ProMods 2.43, DLC content

4,54% explored
Driven km 14,000
2567 hours of ETS2

ATS v1.36x, DLC content

29,46% explored
Driven mi 13,621
155 hours of ATS

Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
n4gix.bill.leaming
Posts: 1196
Joined: 07 Aug 2013 18:22
Donation rank:
Location: Hammond, Indiana
Contact:

19 Sep 2015 20:03

CharlesNewham wrote:Thanks guys, but it still doesn't work. I've installed 7zip, and opened part 5 (in a folder with all the other parts). It still comes up with the same error. Am I doing something wrong?
You don't "open" the part 5 file, you DOUBLE-CLICK on it!

It is a program (.exe) and not a zipped file... :roll:
Fr. Bill
Global Moderator

Interests: Gauge Programming - 3d Modeling for Milviz

CharlesNewham
Posts: 6
Joined: 29 Jan 2015 11:31
Contact:

22 Sep 2015 13:38

Yeah. It is a .exe file, and I do double click on it. I really can't see what is wrong here. Maybe it's because I've opened part one. People have said to open part 1, but other people have said to extract with part 5 ONLY. I'm confused.



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: awkstevie and 5 guests