The Sign Editor: Tutorial

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
Post Reply
User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3685
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

30 Dec 2017 19:53

Sorry, where exactly does it go wrong?
Descripe the precise steps what you're doing. Maybe you're missing a setp, and we can only find this out by tracing down your steps precisely. Don't skip details and steps in your description.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

Gabriel1
Posts: 72
Joined: 27 Jul 2016 15:33
Donation rank:

30 Dec 2017 20:12

Well just from the moment i save it, i don't know with which name where and how to save it so i can use it in the map. If I knew it I would work like much quicker 'cause now i need to wait and i don't have much time to work but anyway could you help me out?

Edit-1:
Adding to that problem i don't know how to make a working parking lot which i could use at the moment...

Edit-2:
Did you get the message?
Last edited by Volleybal4life on 01 Jan 2018 22:25, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Please use the edit button instead of double posting.
Developer for Tregion Germany

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3685
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

01 Jan 2018 21:08

Please stop topic bumping and please read my message again... carefully.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

Gabriel1
Posts: 72
Joined: 27 Jul 2016 15:33
Donation rank:

02 Jan 2018 14:15

Yes I did it but yea anyway i found the message where Voytek explained it and it was a bit more helpful. But thanks that you have much patience with me!
Developer for Tregion Germany

Gabriel1
Posts: 72
Joined: 27 Jul 2016 15:33
Donation rank:

12 Jan 2018 20:17

Well it looks like i can't change my source to my own "modfile" do you know how to fix that? So I could actually change the source to my own "modfile"?
Developer for Tregion Germany

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3685
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

13 Jan 2018 00:02

I'm not sure what you're actually trying to say here. Please explain your problem clearly and comprehensively, because I don't understand what the problem is.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

Gabriel1
Posts: 72
Joined: 27 Jul 2016 15:33
Donation rank:

13 Jan 2018 08:02

So i mean after i have made my sign board i need to save it. I click on the 'save as' button so i can choose where i want to save my template/board. But i when i click at source in the upper left corner, i don't see my own <<mod_file>>. In my case <<mod_gabi>>. I can't change the base to my own folder... So even though i have made one according to your tutorial, it won't appear. Do you know what the problem is? I will provide a photo soon with the problem.
Developer for Tregion Germany

User avatar
elot360PL
Developer
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 Oct 2014 17:18
Location: Bytom (Poland)

13 Jan 2018 15:09

(First, i working on 1.28 version because i can't working on this horrible ME from 1.30 version)

I have two mod_ folders, one for ProMods and one for my own. If i creating template and in save choosing source mod_ folder for ProMods, nothing bad happens. But if i choose my (Actually empty) own folder and try to save template there, nothing happens and if i try to save template after click X button (And ask "Do you want save changes?") editor show me message "Error while saving the template".
That means i can't have more than one mod_ folder or i have something wrong with files?

Edit:
Problem solved. Just because i have some my own templates in main game folders game couldn't create new template for mod_ because the name was used. Effects of creating templates without tips from this topics...
Last edited by elot360PL on 14 Jan 2018 12:59, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Chris94_NOR
Posts: 1442
Joined: 31 Mar 2014 18:38
Donation rank:
Location: Bodø, Nordland, Norway
Contact:

14 Jan 2018 12:54

I have looked up on the new editor in 1.30, and it seems like i have got the hang of it :D
First i started to create a template. I have done that. I have also created a new board aswell.
At first i didn't know how to get my board to appear on my new template sign, but seems like i found it out, to add it on "Board ml2".
Does this even look right?
Image
ProMods beta tester

Map developer of ScandinaviaMod ProMods map add-on
- E39 Bergen to Ålesund
- E39 Kristiansand-Bergen, including Kristiansand and Stavanger rebuild

ScandinaviaMod:
viewtopic.php?f=37&t=17799

PC specs:
http://www.game-debate.com/profile/kristoffer94

Gabriel1
Posts: 72
Joined: 27 Jul 2016 15:33
Donation rank:

15 Jan 2018 18:16

So Mandelsoft you got my explanation? I hope you will reply soon. Thanks in advance anyway
Developer for Tregion Germany



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest