The Sign Editor: Tutorial

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
User avatar
elot360PL
Developer
Posts: 159
Joined: 04 Oct 2014 17:18
Location: Bytom (Poland)

13 Apr 2018 14:43

Why in templates.mod the sign_template_def have only first 6 characters from mod_ name folder?
For example if we have mod_templates the sign_template_def will be templa_<ordinal number>. Why such a restriction?
Don't worry boys. Captain the useless developer is here!

Currently working on: NOTHING (As always)

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3765
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

14 Apr 2018 13:22

This has to do with the limitation that items can have names no longer than twelve characters. So, with the prefix plus underscore, you're already occupying 7 characters, which leads to only 5 free characters left. This means the sign editor can generate up to 99999 sign templates within this namespace. This should be enough, so this is a kind of foresight from SCS ;)
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

rodrigosalgueiro05
Posts: 10
Joined: 09 May 2018 21:15

13 May 2018 23:09

I can't save sign templates anymore. In the game log they just saying "failed to load signtemplate.xxx". I'm doing the same as always and it always worked: saving them, copying the sign folder inside base/def in the root folder of the game to my mod's .scs and it doesn't work. I've checked if the template's number is in the templates.sii and it is. I've already done everything. Can somebody help me?

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3765
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

14 May 2018 08:46

Working in the base template SII is highly unadvised. Please re-read this section again: https://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=36& ... 82#p118784
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

rodrigosalgueiro05
Posts: 10
Joined: 09 May 2018 21:15

14 May 2018 16:49

[deleted]
Last edited by rodrigosalgueiro05 on 15 May 2018 08:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3765
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

15 May 2018 08:21

You are using a cracked game and an old patch. Due to the unpredictable behaviour of cracked versions (and moral reasons), no support is granted.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

Kevin486
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Feb 2015 22:17
Donation rank:
Location: New Jersey,US

15 May 2018 12:55

Hello Madelsoft,
I'm working on map editing since a long time but with 1.31 update i got this problem with editable sign editor(everything is okay with def/sing packing etc after save in editor in my map mod scs file) but i cant even save when i adjusted saved boards on the template.Short of the sentence is this everything is ok till i saved boards for template i choosed,but when i choose that temple then click on save for put the sign on the road it gives this error to me on the pic and boards are not comes on template after click on ok.So how can i solve this problem?Could you please help me with that?
Image

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3765
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

15 May 2018 18:44

The error tells me nothing. I need a game.log to analyse
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

rodrigosalgueiro05
Posts: 10
Joined: 09 May 2018 21:15

15 May 2018 19:31

MandelSoft wrote:
15 May 2018 08:21
You are using a cracked game and an old patch. Due to the unpredictable behaviour of cracked versions (and moral reasons), no support is granted.
Sorry, MandelSoft... this is the only game I didn't buy because I don't have much money to buy it and all their expansions...
I know you can't help me because of that, but there's something you can say that helps me fixing this? This has always worked, so, it isn't related to my game being cracked, and I've tried everything from changing the save location of the .mbd file from deleting all of them and trying to save them again...
I would really love to continue to do my own map, it's the only thing that makes me play this game and I love it :(

User avatar
Noah_Lukas
Developer
Posts: 2665
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 11:46
Location: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Contact:

15 May 2018 19:35

rodrigosalgueiro05 wrote:
15 May 2018 19:31
can say that helps me fixing this?
Indeed first go to the ets2 page of steam and buy the game ;)
Developer for Germany and France
Regional Coordinator for the Central Region



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests