[TUTORIAL] A tutorial creating map (1.8.2)

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
Post Reply
Anonim119
Posts: 16
Joined: 10 May 2014 15:15
Donation rank:

14 Jun 2014 18:28

MandelSoft thanks for help! Viele Danke!

Anonim119
Posts: 16
Joined: 10 May 2014 15:15
Donation rank:

14 Jun 2014 18:55

Erm... done exactly how you said and it's still not working.... Any ideas?

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3771
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

15 Jun 2014 08:30

Could you post the SCS file here, so I can look into it?
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

Anonim119
Posts: 16
Joined: 10 May 2014 15:15
Donation rank:

15 Jun 2014 11:00

What do you mean by 'SCS file'?
Where can I find it?

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3771
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

15 Jun 2014 12:38

It's the archive you packed your map mod in.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

User avatar
LoaderSaints
Moderator
Posts: 1752
Joined: 31 Mar 2014 13:49
Location: LoaderTech HQ, Uusimaa, Finland
Contact:

15 Jun 2014 14:14

I got a question. If I were to edit the standard map and to use the background map that can be found in the game files. How do I get the background map to match the in-game map?
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3771
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

15 Jun 2014 14:55

We use a custom map background, which is not included in the public release. What you can do, is to open "/def/editor_data.sii" and set the background underlay position and dimension to the standard values:

Code: Select all

	bcg_size_x[]: 207656
	bcg_size_y[]: 174375
	bcg_offset_x[]: 10500
	bcg_offset_y[]: -7090
That should fix it, sorta.

Best,
MandelSoft
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

User avatar
LoaderSaints
Moderator
Posts: 1752
Joined: 31 Mar 2014 13:49
Location: LoaderTech HQ, Uusimaa, Finland
Contact:

15 Jun 2014 17:58

MandelSoft wrote:We use a custom map background, which is not included in the public release. What you can do, is to open "/def/editor_data.sii" and set the background underlay position and dimension to the standard values:

Code: Select all

	bcg_size_x[]: 207656
	bcg_size_y[]: 174375
	bcg_offset_x[]: 10500
	bcg_offset_y[]: -7090
That should fix it, sorta.

Best,
MandelSoft
When using those standard values I get this:
Image
As you can see according to the map IJmuiden is in Bremerhaven. XD
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3771
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

15 Jun 2014 18:20

Hmmm... odd. It should work, but then again, fitting the background map is a pain, even for experienced modders.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

WarFox
Posts: 46
Joined: 15 Jun 2014 17:32
Location: Kaunas

16 Jun 2014 11:20

how do you put that map (overlay or how do you call it) on background, please make a video tutorial, also I don't get that grid...



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests