Can't make/change templates in sign editor?

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
User avatar
SimulatorSam
Posts: 67
Joined: 17 Nov 2014 20:03
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

28 Feb 2019 14:30

Sorry? :shock: I said multiple times in my post that I’ve packed the definitions in a folder, not an archive. :? There should be no locking at all. I’m saving from the editor to the dump location, then copying it all into the defintion folder I created in the mod folder.
Image

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3751
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

28 Feb 2019 16:27

I think I know what may be going on.

So, you save your templates in a separate folder. This is OK, but there is a small catch: this folder is not fully mounted unless you make a symbolic link to that folder. It can't refresh the cache memory. This symbolic link will be mounted as a mod (you'll have to make sure first that you clean out the folder first, so you don't have old templates and boards overriding the new). This will allow you to re-save templates while the game is running. As an added bonus, you don't have to copy the files every time you start the editor; you can leave them there and move (not copy!) them to your mod from time to time.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

User avatar
SimulatorSam
Posts: 67
Joined: 17 Nov 2014 20:03
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

28 Feb 2019 19:43

Thank you very much, all my issues have been solved! :D You should definitely add this information to your Sign Editor tutorial.
Image

Etrusan
Posts: 49
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 11:46

01 Mar 2019 15:11

Thank you both, I've updated the guide on the official forum.

User avatar
arayas
Posts: 51
Joined: 10 Mar 2016 20:13
Contact:

01 Mar 2019 22:06

Templates are easy to save, just different method
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_U163rLvXDU
Editor of Romania Extended Map
roextended.ro
[email protected]
ROEXTENDED FORUM
Personal Mods ATS and ETS - Superzoom, Superlights, Normal Economy, Super Traffic, Loading Screens, Black Friday, Virtual Mirrors

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3751
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

01 Mar 2019 22:48

Seriously, your method makes it way, way harder than it needs to be. If you set up your own "mod-base" folder in the ETS2 installation directory and use a symbolic link, it will auto-generate unique names. No need to change them afterwards and you can use the templates straight way. I'm doing this for years in both SCS and ProMods.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

User avatar
arayas
Posts: 51
Joined: 10 Mar 2016 20:13
Contact:

01 Mar 2019 23:58

I agree with you, i was pointing to the new way of saving templates, not saving files after that. My tutorial it's for basic editor and basic operation, for day 1 starters if you want. I want to keep it as simple as possible.
I dont even get to talk about creating your own aditional files. First steps are hard, i know it from my own journey, getting too technical makes people to give up at the start of a project.
Editor of Romania Extended Map
roextended.ro
[email protected]
ROEXTENDED FORUM
Personal Mods ATS and ETS - Superzoom, Superlights, Normal Economy, Super Traffic, Loading Screens, Black Friday, Virtual Mirrors

Etrusan
Posts: 49
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 11:46

02 Mar 2019 07:12

I had no previous experience witht the sign editor, so I read the MandelSoft's tutorial like 5 times and then I knew how to use it.

User avatar
Furkan6161
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Apr 2019 12:36
Location: Trabzon,TÜRKİYE

20 Apr 2019 23:04

The sign editor was not broken in mine in 1.30 just creating a template technique has changed at all thats why u all got issue with it but i’ve tried over and over and then i solved how to create a template in new technique and this way is became more easier than the old one
Developer of the Turkey Map on 1:1 scaled roads 1:15 scaled cities 8-)



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests