How to prevent such thing from happening?

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
Post Reply
User avatar
WapkeZdrapke
Posts: 53
Joined: 30 Sep 2018 14:59

20 Jun 2019 16:48

Just like the title says.
Image
Everything works fine when I'm making it from scratch. But problems start when I want to connect existing roads to my new ones. What can I do?
Map editor is broken

PC: i5-4670, GTX 1050 Ti, 8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz, 2 TB HDD + 240 GB SSD

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9166
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

20 Jun 2019 17:34

You can't connect green <-> green circle nodes.
Besides, you're trying to connect 2x2 road to 2x3.
And they look like some old roads, not PL hwxx.
Aaand that curve on the left is way too sharp.
Image
Current development work: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

User avatar
WapkeZdrapke
Posts: 53
Joined: 30 Sep 2018 14:59

20 Jun 2019 19:26

Ok, I should remember that and connect red <-> green and green <-> red. This curve doesn't exist anymore nor it exists in real life.
It's actually Hw 2b one way, Hw 1a one way etc.
Thanks for help!
Last edited by Davyddin on 20 Jun 2019 23:28, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Redacted quote; please quote only relevant parts and never the entire preceding post
Map editor is broken

PC: i5-4670, GTX 1050 Ti, 8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz, 2 TB HDD + 240 GB SSD

User avatar
WapkeZdrapke
Posts: 53
Joined: 30 Sep 2018 14:59

26 Jun 2019 14:53

Stopped working, map editor changes height of such things and it looks like I must rebuild Europe from scratch on a separate module (nothing seems to work).
Map editor is broken

PC: i5-4670, GTX 1050 Ti, 8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz, 2 TB HDD + 240 GB SSD

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9166
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

26 Jun 2019 15:29

No idea what you're actually talking about.
Maybe ask your questions and problems in the Polish section, so we can understand each other better.
Image
Current development work: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

User avatar
WapkeZdrapke
Posts: 53
Joined: 30 Sep 2018 14:59

26 Jun 2019 16:54

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m40vzkYhtWQ
This video should show you what am I talking about. Everything works when I use height tool... but map editor goes nuts when I change it with node properties. What can I do to stop it?
Map editor is broken

PC: i5-4670, GTX 1050 Ti, 8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz, 2 TB HDD + 240 GB SSD

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9166
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

26 Jun 2019 17:41

I have no idea what you're trying to show. I never even used that "height tool".
You have "Snap to ground" disabled, which sometimes causes issues, but sometimes disabling it is useful - depends on situation.

What I see in the few last seconds of the video - you grab the green "arrow", which is the vertical axis, and move it quickly, so the road goes up and down obviously. If you want to connect the road to the prefab, grab the "node" (not one of the 3 arrows), drag it onto the prefab's node (square) and connect while holding ALT.

Also, Node properties is the window you open after pressing "N", and you input height there manually. You don't want to do it in this case.

When the video starts, you almost did it - but instead of holding ALT and letting it connect, you dragged the road away from the prefab when it was highlighted.
Image
Current development work: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest