Getting started with map making

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
Post Reply
SuperEmbracer
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Sep 2017 10:41
Donation rank:

13 Oct 2019 02:48

Hi there,

After playing ETS2 with ProMods for a while now, I want to learn how to start mapping, because I eventually want to contribute to ProMods some day. The problem is, I don't know how to get started. I don't want to ruin my profiles, (that's why I've made backups). Can somebody give me a step-by-step guide on getting the map editor with ProMods up and running, so I can make my own add-on? I basically want to start off easy for my first project, Maybe Bangor (the one in Northern Ireland, not the one in Wales)

And sorry if this is the wrong subforum, I'm making my return to the ProMods forums, and I thought the ProMods Academy is the relevant one for my topic.

Kind regards,
SuperEmbracer

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 7823
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

13 Oct 2019 06:16

Hi,

Your game profiles are completely irrelevant when using the map-editor, it's just a matter of opening up the editor and fiddling around.
There are several guides available that show you what you need to change in the config to be able to load the map-editor, and after that you have to get your head around the load/save procedures (because they are not straightforward).
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

SuperEmbracer
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Sep 2017 10:41
Donation rank:

15 Oct 2019 05:01

OK, I got the map editor up and running through a guide (My config was already changed prior), but don't know how to load the Promods Europe map through. Both the Vanilla and ProMods maps are called "europe.mbd". I loaded up what I think is the Vanilla europe.mbd, but all i get is a black screen.

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9480
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

15 Oct 2019 10:53

If you have ProMods files in your "mod" folder, it'll load our map instead of the vanilla map.
Image
Currently working on: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

SuperEmbracer
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Sep 2017 10:41
Donation rank:

16 Oct 2019 03:26

Cool, that's nice to know. But one more thing before I start: I've made a folder called "base" inside my ETS2 documents folder, and inside the base folder it has a "map" folder, which I got from a guide. Will my saves overwrite the ProMods map I already have in my mods folder?

Also, how do you work out the scale when making maps? That'll be very useful for me as a novice!

Kind Regards,
SuperEmbracer
Last edited by bmwGTR on 16 Oct 2019 07:34, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed quote - please do not quote posts direct above yours

User avatar
scan720
Posts: 1240
Joined: 31 May 2014 13:57
Donation rank:
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

16 Oct 2019 05:22

Hi

1. Not in the Documents folder. You need to create the base folder in Programms/Steam/Steamapps...
2. It wont overwrite the Promods files since its an closed archive.
PM User since: 1.62
Currently: Busy with school (Slow Progress)



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest