Modding Q&A

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
EG0611
Developer
Posts: 991
Joined: 27 Apr 2016 08:53

07 Aug 2017 10:11

ygt353 wrote:
07 Aug 2017 09:59
And another question. I have a map that crashes when i load it with promods. What can be the cause
I can list thousands of reasons why map editor crashes. But if you are trying to open Promods with these Turkey map mods, their custom models are not compatible with newer SCS versions anymore.
Image
Image
Image

Volvofahrer 26
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Sep 2013 10:23
Donation rank:
Location: Vienna

09 Aug 2017 14:36

How can I modify a company which just receives cargos, in order that it also dispatch cargos?
Which tools do I need to do this?
Do I just have to modify the prefab itself?
I'm familar with the cargo stuff but not how to modify the prefab, yet.
Example:
Petrol station is a company just with incoming cargos.
I want to make it that way, that I can deliver a empty cargo from that station to an other destination.
Thanks guys in advance! ;)
ADR-Cargo Mod

http://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=46&t ... 629#p96629

Get a new challenge with dangerous cargos!

ygt353
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Jun 2017 21:56

14 Aug 2017 12:52

elitegamer0611 wrote:
07 Aug 2017 10:11
ygt353 wrote:
07 Aug 2017 09:59
And another question. I have a map that crashes when i load it with promods. What can be the cause
I can list thousands of reasons why map editor crashes. But if you are trying to open Promods with these Turkey map mods, their custom models are not compatible with newer SCS versions anymore.
Yep, You're right. I try to use those Turkey Map mods. How can i convert their models to a newer SCS versions. I have blender tools installed btw.

User avatar
Herdox
Posts: 180
Joined: 04 Apr 2014 09:56
Location: Kraków, Poland
Contact:

14 Aug 2017 14:46

Can tell me where I can find files of ships and planes?

EG0611
Developer
Posts: 991
Joined: 27 Apr 2016 08:53

14 Aug 2017 20:02

ygt353 wrote:
14 Aug 2017 12:52
Yep, You're right. I try to use those Turkey Map mods. How can i convert their models to a newer SCS versions. I have blender tools installed btw.
Well I would gladly help but creator of that map and half of their fans blamed me to be a traitor against my country and targeted me a terrorist because I work with Belgians and Netherlanders on Promods so don't expect much on me.
Image
Image
Image

nickc774
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 May 2017 03:23
Donation rank:

16 Aug 2017 04:31

Can someone confirm whether or not the Map Editor works in Linux or Mac, or if it's a Windows only feature?

My physical machines are Linux and Mac based. I have Windows running in VMware. I have been able to open the Map Editor in the later, but as one who has tried running any graphics-intensive program or game in a virtual machine, it's quite slow and pretty non-responsive. I have a similar experience when running Steam with Wine in Linux, in fact the vm approach is more responsive. When I type "edit" in the ATS/ETS console running on Linux natively, nothing happens. I have searched online and found some anecdotal reports of having the same issue, though nothing conclusive. However, I'm also not sure why this would be so since the game otherwise is not tied to Windows only obviously.

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3765
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

17 Aug 2017 09:57

The game is not tied to Windows only, but the editor is limited to the Windows port of the game. So, tough luck getting the map editor working in Linux...
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

Hoekstra1991
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Mar 2016 19:46
Donation rank:

31 Aug 2017 20:47

Is it allow to make an private addon for the promods? In my case a business park with headquarters, load/unload dock, gasstation and wash street connected with roads? We want this because im a member of an vtc and would like it to have our own business park. The addon will stay private and I don't earn money with it.

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3765
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

31 Aug 2017 23:43

It is allowed to make your own map addons. However, only distribute the map sectors and the definition files you need (to keep the filesize down and avoid conflicts). Do NOT redistribute the assets and models.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

Hoekstra1991
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Mar 2016 19:46
Donation rank:

08 Sep 2017 16:58

MandelSoft wrote:
31 Aug 2017 23:43
It is allowed to make your own map addons. However, only distribute the map sectors and the definition files you need (to keep the filesize down and avoid conflicts). Do NOT redistribute the assets and models.
And is there an good turorial with how to saperate map sectors and definition files that i need? (the part that i need is locate south/west from brussel)



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests