Modding Q&A

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3703
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

20 May 2018 12:39

Have you checked the loading order again? Remember that the Map Editor loads all packages in alphabetical order and ignores the Mod Manager completely
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

broadsword86
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Feb 2017 16:09

20 May 2018 13:55

MandelSoft wrote:
20 May 2018 12:39
Have you checked the loading order again? Remember that the Map Editor loads all packages in alphabetical order and ignores the Mod Manager completely
I deleted the game, all cleaned up! downloaded the game, extract base and def, created (Euro Truck Simulator 2\base\map) folder, run editor build small road and 1 house, save map, go to the folder (Euro Truck Simulator 2\base\map) copy map and paste (Documents\Euro Truck Simulator 2\mod) create map.scs run editor and nothing! no road no house

I edit a standard map nothing is saved!!!!!!!
after update I do not know what happened just the map editor does not save the map

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3703
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

20 May 2018 14:50

Are you sure your folder structure within your packed map is correct? If it's not, it won't find the files.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

broadsword86
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Feb 2017 16:09

20 May 2018 15:01

MandelSoft wrote:
20 May 2018 14:50
Are you sure your folder structure within your packed map is correct? If it's not, it won't find the files.
map editor work? work! the map opens? opens! map is saved? no!

console game 0 errors
map editor save map here (Steam\steamapps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2\base\map) i copy map file (test.set) (test.mbd) and folder (test) past here (Documents\Euro Truck Simulator 2\mod\map) file (map) i add to archive (archive format zip, compression metod store, rename zip to scs)
what am I doing wrong?

broadsword86
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Feb 2017 16:09

20 May 2018 15:04

I'm telling you again, yesterday worked fine, After updating the game, the editor does not save! I did not do anything with the editor and the files!

broadsword86
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Feb 2017 16:09

20 May 2018 15:13

solved the problem by running the game with directx(x64) omg!

Kronzky
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 May 2018 04:43
Location: Montreal
Contact:

22 May 2018 06:40

New mapper here. Just finished working my way through these 56 pages, but still got a few questions:
  1. Is there a way to use a trailer in the editor?
  2. Even though I have removed all my DLC files from the installation folder, DLC content still shows up in the editor (e.g. like this prefab). Does that mean it's ok to use those objects, even for people who don't own those DLCs?
  3. Is it possible to get a list of all the objects I used in my map? I want to check that I didn't accidentally used some DLC objects that I want to avoid for a release. (I don't want to have to click every object in the map, to do this check...)
  4. I noticed that in my profile folder, in the "editor" directory, there are instances of my map mbd files, but they're different from the ones in base\map. What are they for?

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3703
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Libeň, Praha, Czechia

22 May 2018 10:31

Kronzky wrote:
22 May 2018 06:40
Even though I have removed all my DLC files from the installation folder, DLC content still shows up in the editor (e.g. like this prefab). Does that mean it's ok to use those objects, even for people who don't own those DLCs?
If you look in the content browser, you see a section on the right hand side called "source". This tells you where the asset is actually located. If it's "base", then it's not from any DLC. In the example above, this prefab is located in "base", so that's all fine.
Kronzky wrote:
22 May 2018 06:40
Is it possible to get a list of all the objects I used in my map? I want to check that I didn't accidentally used some DLC objects that I want to avoid for a release. (I don't want to have to click every object in the map, to do this check...)
That is a bit tricky, but there is an alternative way; you can disable DLCs by changing the startup options in the command line or with Steam. You need to add the following bits:

Code: Select all

-no_dlc eut2_east -no_dlc eut2_north -no_dlc eut2_fr -no_dlc eut2_it
(More info: https://forum.scssoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=183173)
This disables all map DLCs. If you find it crashes, check the log for errors of missing models. Note them down, enable all DLCs again and track the item in the content browser. Then, right-click on it and select "find all references". It will give you a list of all instances said object is used on the map.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.
Don't let the flag fool you; I'm Dutch, actually

Kronzky
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 May 2018 04:43
Location: Montreal
Contact:

22 May 2018 15:30

Thanks for the detailed info. That makes my life a lot easier!
(And a lot more fun, as I can now use all those objects that I thought were off-limits...)

And I guess editor+trailers is a no-go? :(
(I tried picking up a load, but the game keeps telling me I can't abort my first job. Even though it isn't...)

Oh, and one more question (for now):
Is it possible to change the keyboard assignments for the editor? (I looked in editor_data.see, but couldn't find anything.)
I'm a ESDF type of guy, and it's a pain to always have to switch when you're driving and editing.

w-aiguo
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Apr 2018 09:49

29 May 2018 07:46

MandelSoft wrote:
08 Sep 2017 23:05
I'm afraid not. But in the game, you can check the sector IDs when you turn on the background map. And the DEF files are the SII files you write if you need them.
Hello,I refer to this paper: http://modding.scssoft.com/wiki/Games/E ... ides/1.4.1
And find the information:
Sectors
In the new format the map is separated into grid of fixed size sectors. The .mbd file now contains only basic metadata

information. All other information is stored as set of files in matching subdirectory (e.g. "/map/europe/" for

"/map/europe.mbd"). The resulting map as seen by the game or editor is combination of all sectors found in that subdirectory

regardless of which .scs pack they are coming from (the usual file overloading still applies).
Usually only the sectors containing real changes are updated when saving the map. It is however possible, that various

inaccuracies during recalculation might cause some other sectors to be changed as well. As long you know, that you did not

change that sector in any way, you can ignore the change to its files. Another way is to use the locking functionality of

[#edit_mark command] to lock all sectors you do not intend to edit before you start making changes. Locking a sector will

prevent it from being modified and sectors, which are locked at time of the save, will be not saved.
So I use the command “edit_mark lock” to lock all sectors, now the map can’t be modified. Then I try to use command

“edit_mark unlock [sector_file]” to unlock one part of the sectors, but unfortunately, I failed.
Please see the log below:

00:11:43.862 : edit_mark lock
00:12:18.653 : Building kdop tree for all sectors.
00:12:18.654 : Sectors' trees finished.
00:12:35.393 : edit_mark unlock -09;+09
00:12:35.394 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file "-09;+09" in the read_only mode
00:12:35.394 : <ERROR> Unable to open file '-09;+09'

“edit_mark unlock [sector_file]”: How to use this command?
Please help me to find the problem, I just want to save the sector that I modified, but not to save all the map.
Thank you!



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests