Page 67 of 72

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 05 Aug 2019 10:58
by TheWarPope
Plum™ wrote:
17 Jun 2019 23:25
No compressing, just save the map as you normally would and copy the sectors out ;) you only need to compress it if you were to release your addon
So what would one need to do if he wants to release his addon? :D

compress the files and call it: ''Z_mod_yourname.scs'' ?

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 05 Aug 2019 20:33
by Plum™
I think so, or at least the folder inside not 100% sure you would have to ask someone else about that :P

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 13 Aug 2019 14:00
by scan720
I have a Question: How can I load my map again properly?
Because I wanna do an Map which needs and Connects to PM Territorry
But always I load the map IG or in the editor, my map will be overwrited by the old PM areas.
Has anyone an Idea?

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 13 Aug 2019 14:28
by Vøytek
It needs to be higher priority, then it won't be overwritten.

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 13 Aug 2019 14:39
by scan720
But the editor loads the mods as he want (if i am right...)

Hinzugefügt nach 7 Minuten 53 Sekunden:
After giving it an higher priority, my map will be still overwriten
Heres my game.log (my map has still the name map.scs if you ask ;) )

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 13 Aug 2019 15:03
by Vøytek
It loads them in alphabetical order, just like it was in game few years ago (before Mod Manager was introduced).

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 13 Aug 2019 15:04
by scan720
So I need to rename it ?

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 13 Aug 2019 15:21
by Dawid2849
Yes, you need to rename it

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 14 Aug 2019 10:26
by Plum™
Here I explained how the folder structure for an addon should work:

Well in your /base/map/ folder is a /europe/ folder which has the sectors in, if you have the sector overlay by pressing A a few times (you may have to zoom out) you should be able to see what sector you are working in. In the /europe/ there are the sector files, all you need to do is find your sector (or sectors.) So lets say your sectors are +0015 -0003 you search for them and there should be 4 files: .desc, .data, .aux, .base. So with our sector it would be +0015 -0003.desc, +0015 -0003.data, +0015 -0003.aux and +0015 -0003.base. Now that you have your sectors, you need to overwrite the defualt promods sectors sectors to do this you need to make in your /mod/ folder a

Code: Select all

/z_mod_yourname/map/europe/
and copy your sectors into there. (The z in front of mod_yourname is there to show the game it has to load first) Now when you enter the game again the sectors will be overwritten with your name. Now next time you save after you worked and closed the game you need to get your 4 sector files and just replace the exsisting ones in /mod/z_mod_yourname/map/europe/.


Hope this helps :)

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 14 Aug 2019 14:02
by scan720
OMG :D
It worked!
Finally I can i can save my things...
Thanks Plum

Heres your cookie (i know the meme is old :P )
Image