DFW metroplex map.

Ask questions about the ATS mod here. If useful they will be added to the Q&A / Development updates.
User avatar
Nico
Founder
Posts: 3481
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 09:40
Location: Nijmegen, Gelderland

12 Feb 2016 13:42

Hello guys,

I want to present an upcoming map to you: DFW metroplex area.

For those who don't know what it is, some basic info here:
The Dallas–Fort Worth–Arlington, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area, the official title designated by the United States Office of Management and Budget, encompasses 13 counties within the U.S. state of Texas. The rest can be found here Source.

For now my plan is to recreate the area as good as possible in a 1:4/1:6 scale.
I will first start of in the area of Frisco, McKinney and Plano and start working my way down.

I haven't drawn any mapping plans yet, mainly because I haven't started mapping yet. Right now I'm very busy creating alot of new assets. These assets will become available for you as well. Yes, you read it right. It will be allowed to re-use my assets in this mod to benefit your own project. All I ask is to pass on credits ;)

My main goal is to create a new set of prefabs, roads and signs on which other modders can continue their ideas.

I have alot of other ideas on how to make interesting delivery challenges but those ideas will be announced later when I have started to execute them.

Right now I want to show a short demonstration of the current prefabs at work. I have created more than shown in the video but the main purpose is to give a quick insight on what I'm actually building now.

Enjoy:


Btw, in the video ATS is sped up and also the g_traffic parameter has been set way higher than default. That is why some roads got blocked with the huge amount of traffic ;)

Any questions, feel free to ask. I will keep you guys posted.
Am I developing at the moment?
Image
STDS, ETS2, ATS Beta Tester
Main Developer of ProMods and Moderator.

User avatar
Puncake
Posts: 432
Joined: 07 Apr 2014 18:07
Donation rank:

12 Feb 2016 15:12

Nice! Can't wait for future development :)

User avatar
jasper
Posts: 2034
Joined: 10 Feb 2014 23:36
Location: Nice

12 Feb 2016 16:32

Looks great , ATS will be with breathtaking sceneries one day with Promods's touch! :)
Volvo FH Globetrotter XL 750HP 6X2/4 Midlift

Map coverage: 44,78%
Truck driven distance: 12275 Km
Overall driven distance: 879873 Km
Driven distance during jobs:548030 Km
HQ garage : Nice , France
Trips completed : 450

Image

User avatar
KrysEmlyn
Posts: 432
Joined: 17 Apr 2014 00:29
Donation rank:
Location: Kent City, Michigan
Contact:

13 Feb 2016 06:24

I'm curious as to how you got the blinking yellow arrow to work on those left turn signals you had there.

Also, would it be possible to have protected left turns (green arrow displayed) with those signals, or would you need a new model for that?

realdeal350
Developer
Posts: 1669
Joined: 09 Feb 2014 02:14
Location: Melbourne, Australia

13 Feb 2016 11:00

This is awesome!

This also makes me want to do the same thing except for San Diego area :)

Also hope to see highways with like 10 thousand lanes :P
Spain developer
Italy developer
Canada developer
Regional Co-ordinator for the Roman region

My YouTube channel

Languages: English, italiano

User avatar
Nico
Founder
Posts: 3481
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 09:40
Location: Nijmegen, Gelderland

13 Feb 2016 11:11

KrysEmlyn wrote:I'm curious as to how you got the blinking yellow arrow to work on those left turn signals you had there.

Also, would it be possible to have protected left turns (green arrow displayed) with those signals, or would you need a new model for that?
The current game doesnt really support the blinking yellow light. The trick I used was making a new model with just the lamp. With smart modelling it looks like one object now. Next I put the frequency of the traffic light in a different pattern. Where the normal one has 18secs of green light this one has 18 secs of the yellow light phase. This way I was able to display a yellow light.

Creating a protected right turn wouldnt be alot harder, just a small modelling tweak. Might make them for the really big boys or when I notice some annoying congestion. For now I will leave it with this nice feature ;)
Am I developing at the moment?
Image
STDS, ETS2, ATS Beta Tester
Main Developer of ProMods and Moderator.

Volvofahrer 26
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Sep 2013 10:23
Donation rank:
Location: Vienna

13 Feb 2016 11:47

do you still focus on ets2 too or is this your main project for now? ;)
ADR-Cargo Mod

http://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=46&t ... 629#p96629

Get a new challenge with dangerous cargos!

User avatar
Nico
Founder
Posts: 3481
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 09:40
Location: Nijmegen, Gelderland

13 Feb 2016 11:48

I will do both.

In ets2 I still have some projects I need to finish and of course I will continue with ProMods.

This project is more a new challenge for me. Never done a standalone map on a different scale etc. See it as an extra challenge for me ;)
Am I developing at the moment?
Image
STDS, ETS2, ATS Beta Tester
Main Developer of ProMods and Moderator.

Volvofahrer 26
Posts: 540
Joined: 22 Sep 2013 10:23
Donation rank:
Location: Vienna

13 Feb 2016 12:33

puhhh...i'm glad that you will focus on promods as well. ;)
ADR-Cargo Mod

http://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=46&t ... 629#p96629

Get a new challenge with dangerous cargos!

User avatar
AssassinLV
Posts: 205
Joined: 31 May 2014 14:14
Donation rank:
Location: Riga
Contact:

13 Feb 2016 16:34

I loved the jam...... I hope one day the SCS team will learn how to make AI that doesn't stuck... :D
Mom says to son.
Hey son - can you go to the shop and buy the milk, if they have eggs - buy six.
Sure.
Son goes to the shop and buys six packs of milk and goes back home.
Why did you buy six packs of milk?
Because - they had eggs. And you told me to buy six - if they had eggs.



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests