Black walls in Scandinavia

For problems that are not caused by ProMods
Post Reply
armittage
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Nov 2018 16:29

07 Sep 2019 20:03

Hi and sorry for bothering, if I missed something obvious.

Playing 1.35.1.150s 64 bit on Ubuntu Xenial, PM 2.41, only maps seen as compatible in order according to this post are enabled.

In really many parts of Scandinavia I encounter this:

Image

This instance is around <35204.1 41.5994 -111768>, there are many others - closer to the road or on horizon, even going through towns (i.e. Trondheim, ...). No visible thickness, black from both sides, where one can see the other side. OpenGL not understanding transparency of some barrier / construction element ?

game log

Is there anything I can do myself?

Thx a lot

armittage

User avatar
Dawid2849
Developer
Posts: 714
Joined: 28 Jul 2018 12:49
Location: Biłgoraj (Lublin voivodeship)

07 Sep 2019 20:31

Can you try to check it without other mods than ProMods?

User avatar
Trucker2223
Moderator
Posts: 5086
Joined: 16 Apr 2017 13:17
Donation rank:

07 Sep 2019 21:19

I can not confirm any Black Textures at the location in OpenGL mode. There is a known Problem that some textures render black in OpenGL, due the dds file being in a slightly wrong format. But those has been fixed in a previous Version. So this is another mod overriding the textures. And please copy the coordinates from your bugs.txt file, so we have the full coordinates including sectors.
No. 4 forum spammer

No Support via PM!!

ProMods Senior Beta Tester since 2.30
ProMods Moderator since 1. January 2019

armittage
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Nov 2018 16:29

08 Sep 2019 18:15

Disabled Steppe, Southern Region and RusMap including RCs. Economy and Superzoom left in place.

First ride, at the location from the picture no black walls. I'll retrace some other routes, just to be sure. If still no black walls, I'll try some combinations.
Edit 20:50 : No black walls from Sundsvall to Trondheim (there were really annoying ones). Not a ProMods problem.

Sorry for not trying that first. I'm kind of new to ProMods, probably shouldn't start with combos.

Recorded previous locations (probably not necessary anymore)

Code: Select all

Sweden ;[07/09/2019 16:15] (sec+0003-0018);14882.5;11.8904;-71299.7;2.16613;-0.243739
Trondheim ;[07/09/2019 16:29] (sec+0001-0019);6790.38;-9.34949;-72687;-0.0730241;-0.220491
Trondheim ;[07/09/2019 16:31] (sec+0001-0019);6531.53;-3.61174;-72132.8;1.22875;-0.0718796
South of Honningsvag ;[07/09/2019 19:52] (sec+0008-0028);35204.1;41.5993;-111768;1.80809;-0.126886
Thx again

a.

armittage
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Nov 2018 16:29

20 Sep 2019 22:28

There ARE walls, they are just not black. Texture looks like forrest background and is partially transparent.

Image
Image

In my Mint 18/OpenGL 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.130 :

- RusMap 1.9.0 and Great Steppe 1.3 do not override this texture (even if both are having quite a lot of black houses and other models)
- Southern Region 7.90 overrides this texture - and some water textures (and the amount of incompatible other textures makes it almost unplayable - houses, structures, road paintings, asphalt, ...)

Might I have another question?

Wanted to see .dds files, which - according to some posts - are probably stored with some features available only for DirectX and thus not usable in my setup.

Couldn't open many of .scs files with archive manager, including commandline unrar and 7zip, even scs_extractor.exe via wine - even though the last method works well for vanilla files. For Southern Region, I'll ask at truck-sim.club. But I couldn't open even promods files - assets, me-assets, media and models 1, 2 and 3.

scs_extractor ends with

Code: Select all

[hashfs] promods-model3-v241.scs: Mounted ok, 8298 entries
*** ERROR *** : Root directory not found, can not extract this archive!
Downloaded twice - both paid and free. After decompressing the downloads, the .scs files from both sources match using diff. I'm probably doing redundant work, because I don't have problem with ProMods, as written above. But anyway, the question:

Should all .scs files be extractable?

Thx a lot

a.

User avatar
Trucker2223
Moderator
Posts: 5086
Joined: 16 Apr 2017 13:17
Donation rank:

20 Sep 2019 22:51

For the first problem: Those are so called Treewalls they are used in many places far away from the player, so you don't need to map endlessly to not have any "side" gaps.
No. 4 forum spammer

No Support via PM!!

ProMods Senior Beta Tester since 2.30
ProMods Moderator since 1. January 2019

User avatar
Josh0
Posts: 1681
Joined: 20 Dec 2015 02:10

21 Sep 2019 00:59

armittage wrote:
20 Sep 2019 22:28
Couldn't open many of .scs files with archive manager, including commandline unrar and 7zip, even scs_extractor.exe via wine ... couldn't open even promods files - assets, me-assets, media and models 1, 2 and 3.
...
Should all .scs files be extractable?
No, some .scs files are "protected" so that you cannot open them. ProMods protects custom-created assets in assets, media, model1, model2, and model3. The ProMods def and map files are not protected and can therefore be opened with an unzipping tool.

armittage
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Nov 2018 16:29

21 Sep 2019 08:00

2 Trucker2223: Thx, that's what I thought.

2 Josh0: Thx, I learned something. Does the part about "Mounted ok, 99194 entries" mean the file is OK?

User avatar
Trucker2223
Moderator
Posts: 5086
Joined: 16 Apr 2017 13:17
Donation rank:

21 Sep 2019 10:01

Yes, the game will read the files regardless if they are locked or not. The Protection is only protected, so nobody is able to steal the custom made Assets.
No. 4 forum spammer

No Support via PM!!

ProMods Senior Beta Tester since 2.30
ProMods Moderator since 1. January 2019



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests