ProMods 2.46 for game version 1.37 has been released. Please be kind to the download servers :)
Please note that TruckersMP (multi-player) is still on game version 1.36 / ProMods 2.45

Low FPS in cities on good computers

For problems that are not caused by ProMods
Post Reply
User avatar
Bart*28
Posts: 24
Joined: 05 Mar 2016 23:38
Donation rank:

26 Apr 2020 15:28

Hello,
I haven't played ETS2 since summer, so I decided to install it on my laptop and play. But, there's one problem and I still haven't found any solution. I'm playing on Promods, Poland Rebuilding and RusMap (1.36 game version). It's not a big problem while driving on the highways and the local roads far away from the cities, but entering and driving in the cities is much worse. After the game starts my FPS can reach over 90 and more FPS, but note that there's no AI then. After about 2 minutes my FPS drops about 30 FPS down. And it's time to move across the city. FPS are about 35-50 (depends on city's type and AI traffic). For me the game under 45 FPS is unplayable, because it feels so much when using a Freetrack. My coumputers' specifications are very good and I don't think that ETS2 is so heavy for them. Playing CS:GO with the best settings: 150-250 FPS, Rainbow 6: stable 60 FPS (V-sync on), BeamNG: stable 60 FPS (V-sync on too). V-sync in ETS2 doesn't really affect for me, it doesn't change this FPS problem in cities. Temperatures aren't so high, so I don't think that's caused by sth like CPU and GPU throttling (ex. Rainbow 6 heats up my computer much more than ETS2). And... the CPU/GPU usage. It's very hard for me to reach more than 35% CPU usage playing ETS2, disabling all unnecessary programs, except Steam, Spotify, LGS and Freetrack control program. Why ETS2 can't use more CPU power? GPU usage is higher (sometimes reaches 90%), but it depends on CPU usage - in the cities GPU usage can be lower than on the highways! The other games use more CPU power, that allows GPU to use more power too and FPS are better. RAM usage isn't any problem too - still about 7 GB RAM is free. This problem can be seen on my PC and laptop, ETS2 is fully installed on SSD drives. I also use all AI traffic packs by Jazzycat and Nextgen graphics mod, but it's hard to disable them on computers with very good components. In TruckersMP it's the same situation - of course, no mods, many trucks, sometimes 10 FPS, but CPU usage - only 40% and no problems with temperatures. Please help :)

Log file:

PC:
CPU: Intel Core i7-6700 3,4 GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
RAM: 16GB

Laptop:
CPU: Intel Core i7-7700 HQ 2,8 GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
RAM: 16 GB
Image

Currently driving: MAN TGX EURO 6 25.560
My maps: ProMods 2.27 + RusMap 1.8.0 + Poland Rebuilding 2.2 + Southern Region 7.2.0
My computer: Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core I7-7700 (3.40 GHz), 16 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080ti, SSD Drive 250 GB, HDD Drive 1 TB

User avatar
Claverx
Posts: 224
Joined: 31 May 2014 11:38
Donation rank:
Location: Mondovì (CN) - Italy

26 Apr 2020 19:35

Hi,
there are utilities for other games and programs to increase performance: try them and see if they can be useful ...

TimerResolution: is a small utility to change the resolution of the default Windows timer, which translates into slightly better CPU performance and response times.
https://softradar.com/timer-resolution/

Quick CPU (formerly known as Core Parking Manager v3) is an application that was designed to fine-tune and monitor CPU performance, power and voltage settings such as: Core Parking, Frequency Scaling, Turbo Boost, C-States, Speed Shift, and FIVR Control as well as making other adjustments.
https://coderbag.com/product/quickcpu

Important: Remember that all of these settings are not OS settings and will be stored directly on your CPU hardware registers, that being said, make sure you know what you are doing and perform it with caution.
My screenshot thread https://www.promods.net/viewtopic.php?f ... 9&start=20


“Nothing behind me, everything ahead of me, as is ever so on the road.”
Jack Kerouac, On the Road, 1949

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 8282
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

27 Apr 2020 03:37

ETS2 is much more GPU than CPU dependent.
If you have an i9 processor but only a GTX950 the game will run like crap.
If you have a six year old i5 processor but an RTX2070 graphics card, the game will run amazingly well.
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 10026
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

27 Apr 2020 11:58

I think it all depends on certain PC configuration and your settings.
Until last month, I was stuck with my old GTX660 paired with a powerful i7 7700-K and performance was really good (stable 60fps, even in demanding areas). It was on some medium, some high settings and 125% scaling. If you set video settings reasonably for your hardware, it'll be fine. So from my experience CPU is more important and it also takes care of much faster navigation cache generation.
After an upgrade to RTX 2060 Super I was able to max out graphic settings of course so the visual experience improved, but not really the performance as it was good before. If I had a higher refresh rate screen, there would probably be a bigger difference for me.
Image
Currently working on: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

User avatar
Xp132476
Posts: 28
Joined: 01 Aug 2014 23:48
Donation rank:
Location: Colchester, Essex

29 Apr 2020 09:37

Maybe one for the moderators to consider, but would it be worth a thread/questionaire to gather information on users PC specs and usual performance of their hardware? At least with a large survey base we could see what seems to work and what doesn't.

SInce I've started using the in-cab view more regularly, my FPS has dropped slightly but not enough to be an annoyance (yet).
Case: Inwin Dragon Slayer CPU: Intel Quad-Core i5-4690 GPU: ZOTAC Nvidia GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Motherboard: GIGABYTE H97N-D3H RAM: Corsair Vengeance 24GB (2 x 8GB, 2 x 4GB)
Storage: Samsung SSD 850 EVO 120GB and Western Digital Blue 1TB
PSU: EVGA 500W OS: Windows 10 Professional

User avatar
rado84
Posts: 34
Joined: 25 May 2017 18:58

29 Apr 2020 10:01

ScuL wrote:
27 Apr 2020 03:37
ETS2 is much more GPU than CPU dependent.
If you have an i9 processor but only a GTX950 the game will run like crap.
If you have a six year old i5 processor but an RTX2070 graphics card, the game will run amazingly well.
Not quite. My rig is in my signature, everything is set to the highest setting and the game runs perfectly fine. Only grass is disabled because I don't like it and Scaling is 200% cuz I don't see any improvement in the quality of the image between 200% and 400%. Last night with these same settings I played TruckersMP (Windows 7, cuz it won't run in Linux) and with 50+ trucks next to me the frames dropped to 24 fps. Any amount of trucks from 40 and below = 60 fps sharp. When I had an i3-4170 before 7th August 2019 (that's when I got the i7), I was unable to play with such settings, so IMO ETS2 is more CPU dependent than you think.
Core i7-4770, GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, Corsair 32GB RAM, Arch Linux Cinnamon, Firefox x64

citelis730
Posts: 216
Joined: 20 Dec 2017 13:14
Donation rank:

30 Apr 2020 11:31

Grass and scaling make a lot of difference in FPS and that's why yout pc runs the game perfectly. Otherwise 1050 Ti is weak and if you set everything really to maximum you won't be able to keep 60 FPS.

Dave2day
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 May 2019 17:22

04 May 2020 18:01

Hi how do you check what FPS you are getting, thanks

User avatar
Trucker2223
Moderator
Posts: 5414
Joined: 16 Apr 2017 13:17
Donation rank:

04 May 2020 18:05

Go to your config.cfg(In your ETS2 folder) and edit the Variable uset g_fps from 0 to 1. You may need to change g_minicon and g_console to 1 too, not 100% sure anymore.
No. 4 forum spammer

No Support via PM!!

ProMods Senior Beta Tester since 2.30
ProMods Moderator since 1. January 2019



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest