Quit ProMods Usage for beta and come back later?

Ask questions about the mod here. If useful they will be added to the Q&A / Development updates.
Forum rules
Please do not post any crashes, malfunctions or other issues with the mod in this forum. If you have any issues with the mod, please post them here. This forum is only for questions/feedback towards the team, not for solving crashes.
Post Reply
Scania_V8_Rat
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Nov 2015 15:27

23 Apr 2018 18:03

Hey folks,

I was wondering if I could simply turn the mod of for my savegame and update to the latest beta, but if the compatible ProMods-version will come out, I plan to switch back.
I used the search function here in the forum and on the web, too, but I couldn't find an answer.

Here are the steps I want to take (please note: I have only garages in citys that ETS2 has by default):
  • Deactivate the mod
  • Update to beta of 1.31
  • Use existing safegame without loosing progress
  • Download newer ProMods version if available for 1.31
  • Activate it and continue playing with the same safegame
Before I make a back-up for testing purposes, I want to ask you, if this is possible. If not, I could safe a lot of time and effort :)

Happy truckin'

User avatar
KrysEmlyn
Posts: 415
Joined: 17 Apr 2014 00:29
Donation rank:
Location: Clinton, WA
Contact:

23 Apr 2018 18:09

If you are wanting to play with the latest beta from SCS Software, it is recommended to have a separate profile for such testing.
That way, you don't damage your existing saves/profiles.

For the record, there will never be a ProMods update that works with the SCS open betas.
ProMods waits until SCS posts a stable release before providing a map that works for that version.
For example, the current 1.31 beta will not have a compatible ProMods version for it.
Once 1.31 is out, then ProMods will release a map that works with it.

Scania_V8_Rat
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Nov 2015 15:27

23 Apr 2018 18:34

So, you think it will damage the profile for sure?

User avatar
Mooner_37
Posts: 343
Joined: 22 Aug 2016 20:14
Location: Bilzen

23 Apr 2018 18:48

yes it will damage for sure. Errors, crashes and so on could appear.
Euro Truck Simulator/ American Truck Simulator

Current Headquarters: Liège, Berlin, L.A.
Current Trucks: 4 Iveco Stralis, Volvo FH/16, DAF XF Euro 6, Peterbilt 579
Current Mileage: 218,041 km (135,484,40 miles) - 137,882 km (85,676.70 miles)
Level: 35 Elite - Level 26 Instructor

Image
Image

Scania_V8_Rat
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Nov 2015 15:27

23 Apr 2018 19:03

Mooner_37 wrote:
23 Apr 2018 18:48
yes it will damage for sure. Errors, crashes and so on could appear.
So, how can promods than be updated to a newer version? I know, the mod does not only consist of models, but of its own game dynamics, but if ProMods itself is updated, they have other content, too.

User avatar
Noah_Lukas
Posts: 1866
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 11:46
Location: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Contact:

23 Apr 2018 19:45

You download the latest files and replace the old files in the mod folder through the new ones.
Languages: Image + Image (+ Image + Image )
Ba + Bavaria + Palatinate + Hessen + NRW + Switzerland

citelis730
Posts: 109
Joined: 20 Dec 2017 13:14

23 Apr 2018 20:29

I have 2 different prifiles! One for ProMods+Rusmap and another Vanilla!
I upgraded to 1.31 and played the vanilla profile but since the ProMods one won't work on 1.31 (which is nothing special anyway) i downgraded back to 1.30. Now ProMods profile works but not the vanilla since the saves made on 1.31 are incompitable to work on 1.30. So i cannot play the vanilla profile anymore! :( I can upgrade again and the vanilla profile will work but then ProMods one will stop! :(

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 7967
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

23 Apr 2018 20:51

Just use a backup or wait for stable 1.31.

Also, why do you want to use your vanilla profile on 1.30 if you have a ProMods profile for this version, that you can enjoy?
Image
Current development work: traffic signs

#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: https://youtube.pl/vooytek

citelis730
Posts: 109
Joined: 20 Dec 2017 13:14

23 Apr 2018 22:10

I used to play them both every day. A totally vanilla profile compared to ProMods+Rusmap+Jazzycat is like a different game!
But yes i will wait for stable 1.31 now and i will play only on ProMods.



Post Reply
  • Information