What is the biggest size of ETS2 map possible?

Ask questions about the mod here. If useful they will be added to the Q&A / Development updates.
Forum rules
Please do not post any crashes, malfunctions or other issues with the mod in this forum. If you have any issues with the mod, please post them here. This forum is only for questions/feedback towards the team, not for solving crashes.
User avatar
Maxest
Posts: 364
Joined: 15 Jan 2018 09:18

07 Mar 2018 10:28

By default ETS2 map supposed to include only Western Europe and small parts of East. However, there are diffirent mods which can expand the map even to the west of Kazakhstan. But I still wonder what is the size limit? Is it possible to even include the whole Middle East and China? Imagine driving a truck from China, Iran or Iraq to Paris. :shock:
Hey! 8-) Follow our progress on Budapest add-on for ProMods there

erkinalp
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 08:45
Location: Bayraklı, İzmir, TR

07 Mar 2018 11:49

An Iraqi truck will fail emission regulations at Turkish frontier.

id777
Posts: 766
Joined: 14 Dec 2016 18:05
Donation rank:
Location: Кривой Рог, Днепропетровская область, Украина / UA

07 Mar 2018 13:33

erkinalp wrote:
07 Mar 2018 11:49
An Iraqi truck will fail emission regulations at Turkish frontier.
why?
id777 ;)

System: Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core [email protected]3.00GHz x6
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX1060 6GB

Image

erkinalp
Posts: 225
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 08:45
Location: Bayraklı, İzmir, TR

07 Mar 2018 13:39

Iraq does not observe Euro emission standards. However, all its neighbours observe the emission norms.

User avatar
JohnBart
Posts: 394
Joined: 21 Mar 2015 21:14
Donation rank:
Location: Budapest, Hungary

10 Mar 2018 14:11

Maxest wrote:
07 Mar 2018 10:28
By default ETS2 map supposed to include only Western Europe and small parts of East. However, there are diffirent mods which can expand the map even to the west of Kazakhstan. But I still wonder what is the size limit? Is it possible to even include the whole Middle East and China? Imagine driving a truck from China, Iran or Iraq to Paris. :shock:
I guess the theoretical maximum size depends on the limits of the in-game economy model. The more companies and cities are defined in the map, the heavier the load is on the economy layer to generate a substantial amount of jobs in every discovered city. But I'm sure someone from the development team can confirm this or correct me if I'm wrong.
Junior ProMods tester. Translator of the official ETS2 + ATS Hungarian localizations. Ex-Beta tester of SCS Software. Retired Admin of RestaCar.hu. Pre-recorded DJ at ETS2 RestaCar Pirate Radio.

id777
Posts: 766
Joined: 14 Dec 2016 18:05
Donation rank:
Location: Кривой Рог, Днепропетровская область, Украина / UA

10 Mar 2018 15:59

Interesting question
id777 ;)

System: Windows 10
Processor: Intel Core [email protected] x6
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX1060 6GB

Image

User avatar
Noah_Lukas
Developer
Posts: 2669
Joined: 02 Aug 2015 11:46
Location: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Contact:

10 Mar 2018 20:26

Everything is possibel you only need someone who is doing that ;)
Developer for Germany and France
Regional Coordinator for the Central Region

User avatar
Trucker2223
Moderator
Posts: 5169
Joined: 16 Apr 2017 13:17
Donation rank:

10 Mar 2018 22:02

theoretically you could create the entire world in ETS2, but it will take many many years to acomplish that. And even if someone did that no PC on earth could handle that massive load. Just imagine that loading time while building the navigation cache on first load. The 20-30 min. on bad PC while building cache with proMods Map would be nothing compared to that.
No. 4 forum spammer

No Support via PM!!

ProMods Senior Beta Tester since 2.30
ProMods Moderator since 1. January 2019

Rokc133
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 May 2016 20:48
Donation rank:

11 Mar 2018 10:01

But if one day we would have entire world, would it be possible to make it round? For example could you take ferry from Sydney to Los Angeles instead of going through Europe?

Shiva
Posts: 1869
Joined: 21 May 2015 01:09

11 Mar 2018 10:18

If Sydney and Los Angeles have ports or portals.
Then you could easily yourself create patch between the ports.
Youtube video of a Semi Truck in Monaco 2011. Route driven. Traffic map. Possible modern ETS2 routes 1 and 2 and their combinations.
ProMods v2.33 and RusMap v1.8.1 load order for ETS2 1.34



Post Reply
  • Information