ProMods 2.45 has been released. It runs on game version 1.36 and requires ALL map DLCs. It is not compatible with open beta 1.37.

Please note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are sadly unable to expand our server capacity as per usual and the free download servers are likely to be overwhelmed upon release. Please be kind and patient or use the paid service for a better experience.

What is the biggest size of ETS2 map possible?

Ask questions about the mod here. If useful they will be added to the Q&A / Development updates.
Forum rules
Please do not post any crashes, malfunctions or other issues with the mod in this forum. If you have any issues with the mod, please post them here. This forum is only for questions/feedback towards the team, not for solving crashes.
User avatar
Davyddin
Moderator
Posts: 1640
Joined: 22 Jun 2017 22:00
Donation rank:
Location: Helsingfors, Nyland, Finland
Contact:

11 Mar 2018 10:53

Rokc133 wrote:
11 Mar 2018 10:01
But if one day we would have entire world, would it be possible to make it round?
That's a good question actually. I don't think that the map is spherical, but I'm not sure, I don't know.
ProMods moderator, translator, and tester. ATS and ETS2 player and modder. Author e.g. of the Profile Jumpstart mods. Fennoswede from the Finnish archipelago.

User avatar
Darkfizch
Posts: 317
Joined: 10 Aug 2015 12:20
Donation rank:
Location: Zeeland, the Netherlands
Contact:

11 Mar 2018 13:28

I highly doubt it's actually spherical. You can simulate this, however, with timezones and the like. But honestly, we'll never have the entire world in one game. That would take literal decades.

User avatar
ETS2-User
Developer
Posts: 2933
Joined: 06 Aug 2014 22:34
Location: Oberösterreich resp. Vienna

11 Mar 2018 21:52

No, ETS2 and ATS is where the flat-earthers live.
Developer for Austria and Svalbard
Creator of the Radiator Springs mod for ATS
Mods by ETS2-User: Facebook page

Image

dkokales
Posts: 211
Joined: 02 Apr 2016 05:42
Donation rank:

14 Mar 2018 01:39

This actually brings up an interesting question which I've been wondering about. Do ATS and ETS2 correctly take into account how east-west distances change with latitude? In other words, one degree of longitude in Sweden is less kilometers than one degree of longitude in Italy or France.
As far as theoretically being able to go around the world, I imagine you could. You'd have to take a ferry to cross the pacific (or atlantic) and could have the ferry wrap-around from one side of the map to the other. It wouldn't be truly spherical, but you would be able to travel around the world if you desired.

User avatar
ETS2-User
Developer
Posts: 2933
Joined: 06 Aug 2014 22:34
Location: Oberösterreich resp. Vienna

15 Mar 2018 20:04

The game only recognises the latitude to calculate the day length, nothing more.
Developer for Austria and Svalbard
Creator of the Radiator Springs mod for ATS
Mods by ETS2-User: Facebook page

Image

dkokales
Posts: 211
Joined: 02 Apr 2016 05:42
Donation rank:

15 Mar 2018 20:09

Thanks ETS2-User! I suspected as much. I thought the northern countries looked a little stretched east-west on the map, but wasn't sure.

User avatar
blackrider88
Posts: 68
Joined: 10 Aug 2015 10:51

21 Mar 2018 19:45

In my opinion, Europe + former USSR + Near East (let's say Turkey + bits of Iran)+ Maghrebian Africa should be more than enough. More than that it's just overkill.

Stilgar
Posts: 257
Joined: 25 Jun 2016 05:34
Donation rank:
Location: Hamburg

24 Mar 2018 09:33

blackrider88 wrote:
21 Mar 2018 19:45
In my opinion, Europe + former USSR + Near East (let's say Turkey + bits of Iran)+ Maghrebian Africa should be more than enough. More than that it's just overkill.
I totally agree with that.

Rusland itself as a country has many open spaces yet.

A ets scaled turkey (1:20) is whats missing to make europe more complete.

SCS is now working in the baltics, so that spain and the balcan are missing on the vanilla map. If they will be released what's missing (country wise) - ukraine, turkey and maybe north africa.

So that's more than enough kilometers to drive :-)
Company: Universal Transports -- Headquarter : Hamburg
Image
-----------------------------------------------
W.O.T. : Rhuarc
My personal Modlist : ETS/ATS 1.35 - Update : 2019-09-18
Loadordertip : what goes where ?

User avatar
ismailscania
Posts: 131
Joined: 19 May 2017 23:24

24 Mar 2018 11:19

It depends on processor and hard disc capability.....
Headquarters: Stockholm.
Driving Scania S (8x4) at the moment.
Level 412 (2.000.000 km + )
Promods + Rusmap + Southern Region.
17 large garages.80 trucks.

Image
Image

User avatar
blackrider88
Posts: 68
Joined: 10 Aug 2015 10:51

24 Mar 2018 15:00

Stilgar wrote:
24 Mar 2018 09:33
blackrider88 wrote:
21 Mar 2018 19:45
In my opinion, Europe + former USSR + Near East (let's say Turkey + bits of Iran)+ Maghrebian Africa should be more than enough. More than that it's just overkill.
I totally agree with that.

Rusland itself as a country has many open spaces yet.

A ets scaled turkey (1:20) is whats missing to make europe more complete.

SCS is now working in the baltics, so that spain and the balcan are missing on the vanilla map. If they will be released what's missing (country wise) - ukraine, turkey and maybe north africa.

So that's more than enough kilometers to drive :-)
This is what I had in mind (note the artistic skills):
Image
It should be perfect and not too far-fetched from the "Euro" idea.



Post Reply
  • Information