Greece will be added?

Ask questions about the mod here. If useful they will be added to the Q&A / Development updates.
Forum rules
Please do not post any crashes, malfunctions or other issues with the mod in this forum. If you have any issues with the mod, please post them here. This forum is only for questions/feedback towards the team, not for solving crashes.
User avatar
ETS2-User
Developer
Posts: 2933
Joined: 06 Aug 2014 22:34
Location: Oberösterreich resp. Vienna

08 Sep 2014 10:01

Hold on, this is not world truck simulator ;)
Developer for Austria and Svalbard
Creator of the Radiator Springs mod for ATS
Mods by ETS2-User: Facebook page

Image

vkouk
Posts: 19
Joined: 07 Sep 2014 09:51

08 Sep 2014 10:08

Yeah i know that , but since you people started to build a 'serious' project , why not in future make it even more serious .

realdeal350
Developer
Posts: 1707
Joined: 09 Feb 2014 02:14
Location: Melbourne, Australia

08 Sep 2014 10:22

Well, technically, it would be possible to add Greece through southern Italy, via a ferry route from Bari to Igoumentisa, but that would mean that we would have to wait for M95 to finish mapping Italy, and also he would have to find space to put a ferry in, and then match it with scenery etc, etc.
At the very least, add Igoumentisa to the map, because it would be easy to find connections with. Maybe M95 could add Igoumentisa to his Italy map as a surprise! ;)
Spain developer
Italy developer
Canada developer
Regional Co-ordinator for the Roman region

My YouTube channel

Languages: English, italiano

User avatar
Purno
Developer
Posts: 1377
Joined: 22 Apr 2014 16:33
Donation rank:
Location: Almere

08 Sep 2014 10:24

vkouk wrote:Well since you guys started with romania and Italy , Greece is quite close to both of them . So why not?
Because there's other countries that have a higher priority at the moment.
And why not to add , africa usa and goes on . :)
Because we're focusing on Europe. Once we're 100% done with Europe (which could take years), we can discuss the other continents.

durant35
Posts: 39
Joined: 03 Jun 2014 05:40
Location: Hounslow, London

08 Sep 2014 10:29

vkouk wrote:Well since you guys started with romania and Italy , Greece is quite close to both of them . So why not?

I am web designer / programmer too but i got not clue of developing this game . If you could show me i may help this mod become bigger and bigger .
And why not to add , africa usa and goes on . :)
Africa? this is EURO truck simulator mate :D

USA is already on American Truck Simulator

User avatar
Purno
Developer
Posts: 1377
Joined: 22 Apr 2014 16:33
Donation rank:
Location: Almere

08 Sep 2014 10:43

durant35 wrote:Africa? this is EURO truck simulator mate :D

USA is already on American Truck Simulator
A bit of a non-argument since "Euro Truck Simulator" isn't a name chosen by ProMods.

If we were to add Africa to our map, we wouldn't let a silly name stop us. And we wouldn't even be the first ones venturing into Africa...

And true, USA will be (party) in American Truck Simulators, but what would stop us from connecting both continents, if we wanted to?

We're focusing on Europe because we want to, not because this is "Euro Truck Simulator".

realdeal350
Developer
Posts: 1707
Joined: 09 Feb 2014 02:14
Location: Melbourne, Australia

08 Sep 2014 12:00

MandelSoft, you forgot Province of Kaliningrad in your amazing list. :)
Spain developer
Italy developer
Canada developer
Regional Co-ordinator for the Roman region

My YouTube channel

Languages: English, italiano

User avatar
Purno
Developer
Posts: 1377
Joined: 22 Apr 2014 16:33
Donation rank:
Location: Almere

08 Sep 2014 12:05

realdeal350 wrote:MandelSoft, you forgot Province of Kaliningrad in your amazing list. :)
No, he didn't;
MandelSoft wrote:2. Countries that require access from currently existing countries:
- Russia: requires Finland

vkouk
Posts: 19
Joined: 07 Sep 2014 09:51

08 Sep 2014 14:42

realdeal350 wrote:Well, technically, it would be possible to add Greece through southern Italy, via a ferry route from Bari to Igoumentisa, but that would mean that we would have to wait for M95 to finish mapping Italy, and also he would have to find space to put a ferry in, and then match it with scenery etc, etc.
At the very least, add Igoumentisa to the map, because it would be easy to find connections with. Maybe M95 could add Igoumentisa to his Italy map as a surprise! ;)
That would be a sollution yeah :D

User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3771
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

08 Sep 2014 15:22

But still, the thing is that we don't like "island formation" on our map; isolated parts of the map only accessible from one point on the main part of the map. For Iceland, Ireland and the UK, this is not a problem, since those are islands in reality too. However, for mainland Europe, this is something we strongly want to prevent. We would like to have a continuous map.

Besides, we can name quite a few projects that have a higher priority right now than Greece:
- Mapping the Baltics
- Autobahn Rebuilding Project
- Completing Italy and France
- Mapping Spain and Portugal
- Slovenia (and the rest of the Balkan)

There's just so much to do, but only limited manpower...

Best,
MandelSoft
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Hellcat44 and 8 guests