Question for UK players

You can talk about anything here (but respect the rules)
User avatar
Photonic
Posts: 163
Joined: 15 Aug 2014 17:08

29 Aug 2016 14:48

Do use LHD or RHD?

I am asking this question because the reason why you choose to use LHD or RHD

Well I use LHD even though my company is based in the UK because RHD makes no sense to use because most of the driving is done in mainland Europe.
My map combo: Promods + Middle-East Add-On + RusMap + Southern Region + Volga Map + The Great Steppe + Emden ProMods Addon + Paris Rebuild + Macedonia Rework

Image

Promods user since v1.7

User avatar
MistahDave
Posts: 339
Joined: 18 Dec 2013 08:09
Donation rank:
Location: Wales

29 Aug 2016 17:49

LHD, always. I've gotten so used to it now it would feel weird.

In real life some UK based haulage companies actually use LHD trucks if the majority of their work is EU based.

User avatar
PirriAND
Posts: 509
Joined: 28 Apr 2016 01:13
Location: ANDORRA

29 Aug 2016 17:57

It's NOT that hard to learn how to drive RHD vehicles and drive on the left lane.

Also, most videgames are set in LHD countries so i bet most people in the UK are very used to driving both.
Image

User avatar
MistahDave
Posts: 339
Joined: 18 Dec 2013 08:09
Donation rank:
Location: Wales

29 Aug 2016 18:34

Lol I drive a RHD car in real life obviously and have driven both LHD and RHD. It's not hard.

As for ETS 2 the way I have my desk and wheel set up it would break immersion to have the shifter suddenly on the wrong side. Also the route advisor switched to the left side of the screen and while I have it off most of the time anyway I just can't get on board with it.

natvander
Posts: 175
Joined: 17 Dec 2013 00:29
Donation rank:

30 Aug 2016 01:22

What about Australian drivers ;). I generally drive LHD in game as most of my driving is on the continent. My set up is suited for LHD and would need substantial work to change to RHD.

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 7804
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

30 Aug 2016 01:38

I drive an RHD truck in game. I've been driving RHD vehicles for the last 7 years in real life, although I got my license in an LHD country and drove there for nearly 10 years.

I have to admit my G27 shifter is mounted on the right however
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

User avatar
PirriAND
Posts: 509
Joined: 28 Apr 2016 01:13
Location: ANDORRA

30 Aug 2016 12:01

I drove from Andorra to London in real life. The first km in British territory might be a bit awkward. But after 20min driving, you get used to it. I think that for many people, it looks harder than what it really is.

P.S. The worst part for me is converting MPH to KM/H. Thank god i made a small piece of paper that i used as a reference to avoid getting pulled in the UK or get caught by a speed camera.
Image

User avatar
MistahDave
Posts: 339
Joined: 18 Dec 2013 08:09
Donation rank:
Location: Wales

30 Aug 2016 17:34

Luckily if you're driving in the UK in a foreign vehicle you are immune to speed cameras. The same is true for us when we drive in Europe. I'm not nessesarly conedoning speeding but there it is nice knowing I don't have to worry at all. I've set off quite a few cameras in Europe over the years!

If you get pulled over by police you're fucked though.

Pekboy1
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Dec 2013 16:29
Donation rank:
Location: Sheffield, England

30 Aug 2016 20:34

I also stick to LHD due to the mainland driving in Europe however i did spend the earlier ETS2 days on RHD

User avatar
cashtime2013
Developer
Posts: 1230
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 08:01
Donation rank:
Location: Essex coast, England

30 Aug 2016 23:29

I always use RHD trucks, I just don't feel comfortable driving from the 'passenger seat' :D

I do however, on the odd occasion, find myself driving on the wrong side of the road when leaving a ferry, especially after driving for 2-3 hours on the other side :lol:
British Isles Developer

Windows 10 64-bit, 16GB RAM, Intel i5 quad-core CPU, AMD Radeon HD 7790, ASUS VZ249HE 24" monitor, 750watt PSU, ETS2 & ATS 64bit



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests