[2.25] Long loading times - solution in "annoucments"

Installation problems or game crashes? Post them here.
Forum rules
ALWAYS FOLLOW OUR SELF-HELP GUIDE FIRST.

If you report a game crash ALWAYS post your game.log.txt in between CODE tags, or if it too large post it on pastebin.com and share the link.
User avatar
bmwGTR
Moderator
Posts: 2431
Joined: 10 Jul 2016 11:52
Location: Riegersburg resp. Graz

05 Dec 2017 16:34

Hi,

2.2 was on 1.28, not 1.30 - so 2.2 did not have the benefit from the new navigation system which was introduced with 1.30.

Best regards,
bmwGTR
ETS2: ProMods + RusMap + Great Steppe + Southern Region + Paris Rebuild
ATS: Coast to Coast + US Expansion + CanaDream + PazzMod


ProMods Moderator since April 2018

Image

User avatar
cjh2705
Posts: 190
Joined: 30 Aug 2015 04:33
Donation rank:
Location: City of Seosan, South Chungcheong Province, Republic of Korea / 대한민국 충청남도 서산시
Contact:

05 Dec 2017 16:44

Vøytek wrote:
05 Dec 2017 16:10
Warning: That's a long but important reply. Please, read it carefully to understand the issue.

Here's a reply from SCS, quoted from the SCS forum:
...the game is generating navigational data. This happens when there is change in game version, map or job related data (e.g. because you added or removed DLC or mod). The generation of the data might take some time, especially if you have slower CPU (on my home i7-6700 the generation for combination of base game + east + scandinavia + france DLCs takes about 15s.). Currently the progress bar is not updated while that happens so it might look as if the game did hang. Just leave the game running for some time and it should continue. After the data are generated, they will be reused for future loads until some change forces them to be generated again so future loads should be fast.
And now what causes PM 2.25 to load so long every time?

Unfortunately, SCS didn't delete Genova. It's hidden but it's in game. Companies aren't disabled. And there's a bus station that isn't disabled too. It causes issues. Usually, only the first loading of ProMods should take some time, and then every new loading should be really fast. But that bus station in Genova causes the cached data to break, and it has to cache it over and over again, with every restart of the game. That's why loading ProMods takes so long.

Now I have a theory - if you buy the DLC today or later, it'll solve the problem automatically. That bus station will get assigned to Genova and the game will be happy, so it'll cache all roads once and then load everything very fast next time.

If you don't have the DLC - I already have a fix for that problem, but please keep in mind, that it overwrites SCS vanilla sector. So, if SCS fixes something there, my file won't reflect the change.
ProMods 2.25 loading time fix: http://sharemods.com/k8r6aerczq75/promo ... 5.scs.html
Try it yourself. Put it above ProMods Map in Mod Manager. Load the game once, it'll cache the navigation data and it takes few minutes. But now after you restart, it'll be very fast. Just remember, that changing some mods may break that cached data and you'll have to wait again.
Now my PM 2.25 loads in less than 10 seconds, it was never that fast. So SCS actually improved the loading time A LOT but we can't benefit from that properly because of their mistakes...
It seems like a bug... And It is estimated hotfix version(fix for Genova city name missing bug) will be released within a week......
Pinned Nickname: Hobert
ImageImage
ImageImage
Contact: [email protected]

ProMods Since: 1.97(Sep 1st, 2015)
Languages: 🇰🇷 · 🇺🇸 (NOT 🇬🇧)
ProMods UNOFFICIAL Korean Journalist from My Blog

Image

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9725
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

05 Dec 2017 16:55

Here's a fix for all of you, no matter if you use the DLC or not. Looks like SCS fixed their sector in Genova in today's patch, so my fix from above is not needed if you delete some sectors. Follow my instructions below:

We can't provide a file for that, unfortunately. It happened due to last-minute fixing of 2.25 and some vanilla 1.30 sectors got included.

If you don't own the DLC, you can still delete those files, it'll fix the long loading time issue too.

Go to Documents/Euro Truck Simulator 2/mod.
Right-click on "promods-map-v225.scs" file and open it with 7-zip/WinRAR.
Go to map/europe folder.
Find and delete:
  • sec-0001+0007.base
  • sec-0002+0008.base
  • sec-0003+0008.base
Don't delete any other file or you'll have to download ProMods again.

Now launch the game again. All DLC Italia areas and cities should work properly now and the game will load fast of course. Have fun!
Image
Currently working on: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

motorhomegirl14
Posts: 13
Joined: 25 Dec 2013 09:33
Donation rank:

05 Dec 2017 16:58

Ok all good, edited some map files, couldn't delete other post that's why there is 2, sorry.
Last edited by motorhomegirl14 on 05 Dec 2017 18:44, edited 2 times in total.

Random Username
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 May 2016 16:37
Donation rank:

05 Dec 2017 17:35

Hi,
I've always had pretty long loading times, but this one takes the cake. A solid 15 minutes and 37 seconds. I have 1.30 with ProMods+RusMap and all the SCS map DLCs.
Maybe someone could take a look at my game.log :)
There seem to be traces of an old (uninstalled) map mod.
Would appreciate some help.
Greetz, Random

PS: My thread got moved into this one, don't know why. I tried deleting those files, but it didn't help. So I think it's a different issue.
game.log.txt.7z
(10.77 KiB) Downloaded 114 times
Last edited by Random Username on 05 Dec 2017 21:59, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mateush05
Posts: 1338
Joined: 24 May 2015 18:48
Location: Braniewo, PL
Contact:

05 Dec 2017 17:37

Junior beta-tester from 21.06.2018

motorhomegirl14
Posts: 13
Joined: 25 Dec 2013 09:33
Donation rank:

05 Dec 2017 17:49

Ok all good now after editing the map files. :)
Thankyou. :)
Last edited by motorhomegirl14 on 05 Dec 2017 18:40, edited 1 time in total.

mpiwowski
Posts: 29
Joined: 18 Aug 2014 00:32
Donation rank:

05 Dec 2017 17:58

Vøytek wrote:
05 Dec 2017 16:55
Here's a fix for all of you, no matter if you use the DLC or not. Looks like SCS fixed their sector in Genova in today's patch, so my fix from above is not needed if you delete some sectors. Follow my instructions below:

We can't provide a file for that, unfortunately. It happened due to last-minute fixing of 2.25 and some vanilla 1.30 sectors got included.

If you don't own the DLC, you can still delete those files, it'll fix the long loading time issue too.

Go to Documents/Euro Truck Simulator 2/mod.
Right-click on "promods-map-v225.scs" file and open it with 7-zip/WinRAR.
Go to map/europe folder.
Find and delete:
  • sec-0001+0007.base
  • sec-0002+0008.base
  • sec-0003+0008.base
Don't delete any other file or you'll have to download ProMods again.

Now launch the game again. All DLC Italia areas and cities should work properly now and the game will load fast of course. Have fun!

Dzięki, teraz działa :)

Random Username
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 May 2016 16:37
Donation rank:

05 Dec 2017 19:06

That doesn't solve the problem unfortunately :(

italianoGT
Posts: 24
Joined: 11 Jan 2016 17:59
Donation rank:

05 Dec 2017 19:16

sec-0001+0007.base
nie widze tego pliku,napewno tam ma byc - i +



Locked
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: mopek5 and 9 guests