I can't find a 1:1 map of my local area

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
Post Reply
User avatar
GardenData61371
Posts: 39
Joined: 15 Jul 2016 20:38
Donation rank:

04 Jul 2019 14:52

I want to create a map of my region and possibly one day entire country. The biggest issue holding me back is where am I going to find a 1:1 map?
Contact: [email protected] or [email protected]. Brony from Croatia. Gamer, mostly play Skyrim or TF2. Steam account: GardenData61371. Developer and sole maintainer of Croatia 1:1 https://www.promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=30589

User avatar
CallumD714
Developer
Posts: 76
Joined: 22 May 2014 16:35
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador

18 Jul 2019 14:15

Unfortunately I haven't found a website that lets you immediately create a 1:1 map image, the best alternative I've found (and have used in the past) is to take screenshots of Google Maps and manually stich them together into one large image file. It may take a while but it does produce an accurate map of the region you wish to map.
Canadian developing Norway and other projects

Currently working on:
  • E39 Molde - Bergen via Ålesund, Norway
  • Work in Northern Finland
I'm open to suggestions for my work, feel free to PM me if you have any suggestions for improvements or future additions :D

chuckbananas
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Sep 2018 20:30
Location: Los Angeles, California

11 Aug 2019 23:29

Try Maperitive, here's a link:
http://maperitive.net/

How to use:
1. Open Maperitive

2. Run this command, replace info where needed:

Code: Select all

generate-contours bounds=LON1,LAT1,LON2,LAT2
3. Run this command, replace info where needed:

Code: Select all

set-print-bounds-geo bounds=LON1,LAT1,LON2,LAT2
4. You know the drill, another command:

Code: Select all

export-bitmap file=output/*file name*.png dpi=200 map-scale=*your scale*
I recommend you to not choose a scale smaller than 1000000, as it will take forever to process into a file, and then that file will be gigantic, but feel free to experiment.
If the first command doesn't work, don't panic; it is only for generating contour lines for hills and stuff, and your map will still work without it.
There is no guarantee this will work, as I had to download some extra .hgt files that you place into the folder

Code: Select all

/*wherever maperitive is*/Cache/Rasters/SRTM3
Author of 1:3-scale California [WIP], help would be appreciated



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests