ProMods 2.45 has been released. It runs on game version 1.36 and requires ALL map DLCs. It is not compatible with open beta 1.37.

Please note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are sadly unable to expand our server capacity as per usual and the free download servers are likely to be overwhelmed upon release. Please be kind and patient or use the paid service for a better experience.

The Sign Editor: Tutorial

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
bb_notleast
Posts: 14
Joined: 30 Jan 2019 11:50
Donation rank:

22 Apr 2019 12:29

Besides the 5 minute waiting I'm not able to manage creating any fucking new sign (editable signs are not a problem). Either they doesn't appear in the map or the map editor crashes. Now I tried the old way (pmd-editing with SCSEditor) with model2-signs (company logo). But as soon as I want to see it in browser, the program crashes with access violation (C0000005).
In this tutorial mandelsoft wrote about the new way how signs work. I thought that this belongs to navigation signs (model).
My question: Is this right or is pmd-editing complete out of time?
Another question: In an older video tutorial I heard that file names of the mat files (automat) must be 32 bytes long. But in actual base.scs they only have 16 characters. Is this correct?
bb

Code: Select all

Crash log created on: Mon Apr 22 12:51:42 2019
Build: 1.34.0.34s 681a4ae447f4
OS: x86_64 / Windows 7 x64 (version 6.1) / Service Pack 1
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz at 4000000
MEM: Phys:16326 Virt:8388607
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Mem:2048 Ver: 25.21.14.1694

AvailMEM Virt:8384395 Phys:8749 Total:22760
TotalMEM Virt:8388607 Phys:16326 Total:32651
Exception code: C0000005 ACCESS_VIOLATION
EXE Base address: 000000013FF30000
Fault address: 000000014040C6EF 0001:004DB6EF C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2\bin\win_x64\eurotrucks2.exe

pylonzak
Posts: 79
Joined: 23 Jun 2014 13:47
Location: Derbyshire, United Kingdom

25 Jun 2019 15:17

Is it possible to remove a board off of a gantry frame?

Danculovic012
Posts: 17
Joined: 24 Jun 2019 14:22

27 Jun 2019 12:48

How to add a new sign model, is it possible to edit .dds file of existing sign and also .pmd, .pmc, .pmg and .tobj files.

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9844
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

27 Jun 2019 20:32

To make new signs you need Blender where you'll model them.
Image
Currently working on: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

Danculovic012
Posts: 17
Joined: 24 Jun 2019 14:22

28 Jun 2019 10:52

Actually, I succeed to make a new sign without a blender. I took .dds file of one sign which has a similar size to sign which I needed, converted .dds to .bmp, then edited file in photoshop, convert from .bmp to .dds, change def files, change paths in pmg, pmc, pmd and tobj files, then, copy-paste .mat file and define it.

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9844
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

28 Jun 2019 11:44

That works for similar-sized signs indeed, but it's a very limited way to make new signs.
Image
Currently working on: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

aguijon424
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 May 2018 08:20

01 Jul 2019 17:57

hmm..how to create or edit a map overlay..?

User avatar
Vøytek
Developer
Posts: 9844
Joined: 05 Jan 2014 19:38
Location: Luboń
Contact:

01 Jul 2019 18:46

Go to material/ui/map/road and see how SCS did it. You need .dds, .mat and .tobj files there.
Also, you define them in def/world/overlay.yoursuffix.sii
Image
Currently working on: various stuff
#1 forum spammer
Enjoying PM since 1.52
YouTube channel [PL]: http://youtube.pl/vooytek

User avatar
cjh2705
Posts: 194
Joined: 30 Aug 2015 04:33
Donation rank:
Location: Seosan, Republic of Korea
Contact:

11 Aug 2019 15:32

I have one question for you.
Can other characters, such as Hangeul(Korean Alphabet) and Chinese characters, not Latin, Greek or Cyrillic characters, be normally printed on the sign? If not, should I save it as a png and load it separately?
Pinned Nickname: Hobert
ImageImage
ImageImage
Contact: [email protected]

Image
My Future Car Number ;)

ProMods Since: 1.97(Sep 1st, 2015)
Languages: 🇰🇷 · 🇺🇸 (NOT 🇬🇧)

2thumbsup
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Aug 2019 01:34

12 Aug 2019 01:40

Chinese characters -- should be possible, since there is China & Taiwan map mod containing Chinese traffic signs



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests