Page 44 of 90

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 25 May 2017 15:07
by Vøytek
Creating new city names is simple:
Create a new file named city.somenameunder12characters.sii
Open it with some text editor, I recommend Notepad ++
Then you just paste this inside:

Code: Select all

SiiNunit
{

@include "city/arcadiabay.sii"
@include "city/ponyville.sii"

}
This file has to be in the def folder.
Then you create a new folder named city inside that def folder.
There you create a new file (arcadiabay.sii for example) and paste this inside:

Code: Select all

city_data: city.arcadiabay
{
	city_name: "Arcadia Bay"
	short_city_name: "Arcadia Bay"
	city_name_uppercase: "ARCADIA BAY"
	country: poland


	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: -10
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: -20
	map_x_offsets[]: -15

	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 20
	map_y_offsets[]: -28
	map_y_offsets[]: -30
	map_y_offsets[]: -30
	map_y_offsets[]: -18
	map_y_offsets[]: -15

 	### SMALL CITY ###
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0  
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.6  // close zoom for minimap
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.6  // far zoom for monimap
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.8  // city zoom for world map
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.8  // closest zoom for world map
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.8  // middle zoom for world map
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.5  // whole world map zoom

	truck_lp_template[]:"PZ 10102"

	truck_lp_def0[]:"1"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"2"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"3"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"4"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"5"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"6"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"7"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"8"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"9" 

	truck_lp_def1[]:"1"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"2"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"3"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"4"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"5"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"6"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"7"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"8"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"9"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"A"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"C"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"E"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"F"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"G"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"H"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"J"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"K"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"L"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"M"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"N"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"P"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"R"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"S"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"T"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"U"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"V" 

	truck_lp_def2[]:"0"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"1"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"2"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"8"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"9"


}
What you can do, is copy a file which already exists.
Especially if you want to make the name on the map small, medium or large. As you can see above, I copy-pasted a small city.

So, then you have def/city structure.
city.somenameunder12characters.sii in the def folder
And arcadiabay.sii + ponyville.sii in the city folder

Now you right-click on the def folder, create a zip archive and put it in your mod folder.
Then you launch the editor and place a City area. In its properties you should be able to choose your new cities ;)

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 31 May 2017 08:46
by LoaderSaints
Mr Larrington wrote:
22 May 2017 10:23
Do the Experts have any recommendations for a .tobj editor?
I suggest using that (ETS Studio's one) and for fixing any possible errors try Hex Editor Neo or some similar Hex editing software. You can always open a TOBJ made by SCS and compare it with the ones you have made with the Hex editor. It's the first 40 bits you want to modify if warning messages appear in-game.

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 03 Jun 2017 12:23
by kReX
Does anybody know, why a crossroad interrupts speed limit, which was defined in the Traffic Area. For example, I set a Traffic Area with speed limit 80 km/h, but when I bypass the crossroad, the speed limit goes back to 100 km/h, even though the road still is a part of the Traffic Area. Am I doing something wrong?

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 03 Jun 2017 12:24
by ScuL
No, probably not. The game is just weird like that sometimes

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 04 Jun 2017 08:51
by kReX
So that means there should be a sign for the speed limit after every single one crossroad?

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 04 Jun 2017 12:16
by ScuL
It's typically what I do

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 11 Jun 2017 10:12
by imp1234
How Do I Made Signs ? . With Blender ?
Also How Do I Made Editable Signs ? . What Program It Use ?
I Have A Template Here
INTER 1.jpg
INTER 1.jpg (68.67 KiB) Viewed 1973 times
Here Is An Example

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 11 Jun 2017 11:46
by Horizon™
https://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=12021

This topic should help you out with the signs

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 20 Jun 2017 19:31
by calania
Hey, I want to try to learn how to make a map. Most things look doable but every tutorial I have seen/read makes the map without any map mods. I want to try to add roads and town to promods. So how do you do to make a map that uses promods?

Re: Modding Q&A

Posted: 20 Jun 2017 19:38
by Vøytek
Place ProMods in your mod folder and launch the editor ;)