Can I put 1:1 maps in the editor as a background?

Modding school: Learn it from the masters
Post Reply
jakers132
Posts: 10
Joined: 17 Jul 2017 12:56

05 May 2019 09:53

I'd like to create a 1:1 (or something close to that) project of my small city, the main streets at least, factories and villages up to 50km radius or so.

So, can I somehow put a large 1:1 map in the editor and also what's the best place to download a map like that? (a map that has a big resolution, so that when you zoom in, you see the streets)

User avatar
CallumD714
Developer
Posts: 75
Joined: 22 May 2014 16:35
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador

26 May 2019 14:07

Yes, it is possible to add your own background map to the editor. All you have to do is find the image of the map, convert it to .dds, write the file location in editor_data.sii, and it should show up in-game. There are some tutorials online that explain this in more detail.

In terms of finding a high-quality map image, the only way I know to get an image like this is to take screenshots in Google Maps and manually combine them together. I've heard of some websites that let you download Google Maps areas as images, but I've never been able to get them to work.
Canadian developing Norway and other projects

Currently working on:
  • E39 Molde - Bergen via Ålesund, Norway
  • Work in Northern Finland
I'm open to suggestions for my work, feel free to PM me if you have any suggestions for improvements or future additions :D

User avatar
scan720
Posts: 1152
Joined: 31 May 2014 13:57
Donation rank:
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Contact:

26 May 2019 15:05

Hi,

there are some youtube tutorials about this.
Here an example:


Best regards,
scan720
No Support via PM!!

Moderator and Beta Tester of the "NaturaLux" - modification for ETS and ATS
PM User since: 1.62
Currently: Holidays 8-)
Image



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest